Tech

Google Launches Auto-Delete Feature For Location History

The Users Can Also Delete Their Location Manually With This Feature.

Google has started rolling out the auto-delete feature for location history. This feature is available for both Android and iOS users.

The company pre-announced the feature back in May, just ahead of its annual developer conference Google I/O 2019. Google had said at the time that location history could help it make better recommendations. However, the company said users might need simpler controls to manage their location data. “We work to keep your data private and secure, and we've heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it,” the company said in a blog post.

The new controls will allow you to set Google to erase its collection of location data on your every 3 months or every 18 months, depending on your preference. The feature is provided within the Web & App Activity page available under the My Activities section of your Google Account.

To do so, you should need to open your Google Account My Activity section and tap the new “choose to delete automatically” option in the Location History area.

From the screen that appears next, you can choose which time frame you prefer 3 or 18 months. As well as, you can also opt to delete data manually.

Moreover, Google says that these controls are available on both – company's Android and iOS-based apps. However, you shouldn't worry if you are unable to see these settings on your smartphone right away. Google has started rolling out the feature, and you should be able to see this feature on your smartphone within a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button