Rohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as captain of the Indian ODI team

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that Rohit Sharma will take over from Virat Kohli as the captain of India's ODI team as well. Rohit was appointed as full-time T20I skipper after Kohli decided to step down from the role after India's T20 World Cup campaign.

He will take over the captainship from his predecessor Virat Kohli starting the three-ODI series against South Africa in January 2022.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr. Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward,” the BCCI tweeted on Wednesday.

The announcement comes on the day the board announced India's squad for the three-Test series starting December 26.

Rohit, who took over as India's T20I skipper after the T20 World Cup, led in the recently-concluded three T20I series against New Zealand, which the home team comfortably won 3-0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button