Macro Jansen replaces injured Dwaine Pretorius in South Africa’s T20 World Cup squad

South Africa on Wednesday announced left-arm pacer, Marco Jansen, as the replacement for Dwaine Pretorius in the T20 World Cup Squad. Pretorius was ruled out of the recently concluded ODI series against India as well as the T20 World Cup due to a left thumb fracture.

The 2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup is scheduled to be the eighth ICC Men's T20 World Cup tournament. It is scheduled to be played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November 2022.

Jansen has so far played only one T20I, which came against India in June 2022 in Rajkot. He had picked up 7 wickets in 8 matches in IPL 2022 for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Also, the 29-year-old pacer Lizard Williams has been added as a traveling reserve.

South Africa Squad for T20 WC: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen.

Travelling Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, Andile Phehlukwayo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button